What is a right?

In an effort to help people better engage friends in family in discussions about the future of our country I will be posting info on this blog to help articulate certain ideas.  I will also use the category “debate” so you can easily find all related posts concerning this subject. I will credit the source when it is available.The info below was gathered from listening to Dennis Prager’s radio show.

What is a right?

According to the founding fathers a right does not impose an obligation on anyone else. My right to free speech does not obligate you to do anything. If health care is a right then it would not require someone else to pay for it.

I’m not suggesting we are not morally responsible to help those less fortunate than ourselves but I am saying that the federal government is one of the worst vehicles to administer that help and it is unconstitutional. I am sure that will become evident in the next several years as the recently passed legislation is implemented.

